Awards & Recognition

NAA and our partners are doing some great things to elevate the field of afterschool!

Top 25 Most Influential People in Afterschool

Tuesday, 18 March 2014 00:00

The National AfterSchool Association (NAA) has announced its list of the twenty-five most influential people in the afterschool community! The award recipients will be introduced in a special edition of AfterSchool Today magazine, this spring. “As nominations poured in from NAA members around the country, we focused our selection on those leaders whose service, research, and action influence and impact large numbers of children and families,” said Gina Warner, National AfterSchool Association executive director. “In so doing, these leaders bring positive attention and investment to the field of afterschool.”

The NAA Top 25 Most Influential People in Afterschool honored by NAA, 2014

MATTHEW BOULAY | Founder, Chairman of the Board of Directors, National Summer Learning Association

JIM CLARK | President and CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of America

JESSICA DONNER | Director, Every Hour Counts

TERRI FERINDE DUNHAM | Partner, Collaborative Communications / Lead, National Network of Statewide Afterschool Networks

LUCY N. FRIEDMAN | Founding President, TASC (The After-School Corporation)

AYEOLA FORTUNE | Director, Education Team, United Way Worldwide

ELLEN S. GANNETT, M.ED. | Director, National Institute on Out-of-School Time (NIOST), Wellesley Centers for Women at Wellesley College

JODI GRANT | Executive Director, Afterschool Alliance

ROBERT HALPERN | Professor and Chair of Research Council, Erikson Institute

CLIFF JOHNSON | Executive Director, Institute for Youth, Education and Families, National League of Cities

SYLVIA LYLES, PhD | Director, Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality Programs, U.S. Department of Education

JIM MURPHY | Senior Manager, Child and Youth Development Program, Council on Accreditation

JUDY NEE | Executive Vice President and General Manager, AlphaBEST Education, Inc.

NEIL NICOLL | President and CEO, YMCA of the USA

GIL NOAM, Ed.D, PhD | Founder and Director, Program in Education, Afterschool and Resiliency, Harvard University

BEN PAUL | President and CEO, After-School All-Stars

TERRY PETERSON, PhD | Director, Afterschool and Community Learning Network

SAM PIHA | Founder and Principal, Director, Temescal Associates, Learning in Afterschool & Summer Project

KAREN J. PITTMAN | President and CEO, The Forum for Youth Investment

SHANNON RUDISILL | Director, Office of Child Care, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

CARLA SANGER, M.ED. | President and CEO, LA’s BEST After School Enrichment Program

JENNIFER SIRANGELO | President and CEO, National 4-H Council

CHARLES SMITH, PhD | Executive Director, David P. Weikart Center for Youth Program Quality

DEBORAH LOWE VANDELL | Founding Dean, School of Education, University of California Irvine

TOM WYATT | Chief Executive Officer, Knowledge Universe-United States

NAA is the membership association for professionals who work with children and youth in diverse school and community-based settings to provide a wide variety of extended learning opportunities and care during out-of-school hours. Members include afterschool program directors, coordinators, sponsors, front-line staff, school leaders, principals, teachers, paraprofessionals, board of education members, nonprofit leaders, advocates, community leaders, policymakers, researchers, and more. AfterSchool Today is the official publication of NAA.